Average Guest Rating for Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Rooms:
4.1
Value:
4.3
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Facilities:
3.9
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.3
From 239 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Previous Page: ... 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 Next
Diane
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '10
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
1
Breakfast:
3
"Noisy area - on a main road, with noisy groups outside. Little available parking."
One night, visiting university student.... Read more
"Noisy area - on a main road, with noisy groups outside. Little available parking."
One night, visiting university student. Read less
Likes:
Friendly, welcoming host.
Dislikes:
Noisy groups of people outside until the early hours. No parking on site, and little available in surrounding roads.

Bedrooms overcrowded with furniture.
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Greg
Alone
Stayed: May '10
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"nice, but pricey"
Wanted a private room after a couple of bad nights at a hostel - they definitely provided that.... Read more
"nice, but pricey"
Wanted a private room after a couple of bad nights at a hostel - they definitely provided that. Read less
Likes:
Quiet, well kept
Dislikes:
price - a bit steep even for a B&B
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
jeroen
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '10
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"helpfull and friendley"
short, but very good... Read more
"helpfull and friendley"
short, but very good Read less
Likes:
clean and good service
Dislikes:
no
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Nathan
Young Couple
Stayed: May '10
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Great B&B"
A quick over night stop in Southsea.... Read more
"Great B&B"
A quick over night stop in Southsea. Read less
Likes:
Linda and husband (sorry - forgot name) were extremely friendly and helpful. They seemed to have dispensed with rules and encourage you to feel welcome and to treat it as home from home.
Dislikes:
The step into the en suite bathroom that I kept tripping on. Not much of a complaint is it?
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Trevor
With a colleague
Stayed: May '10
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Adequate value for money......."
Initially put into single room, this room was very small with paper thin walls as I heard the guest breathing in the adjourning room.
Room not big enough to have suitcase on the floor ir you wer... Read more
"Adequate value for money......."
Initially put into single room, this room was very small with paper thin walls as I heard the guest breathing in the adjourning room.
Room not big enough to have suitcase on the floor ir you were trying to get yourself dressed, case had to be put onto bed. Was given a twin room after complaining of the standard of single room, twin room was of better standard. Read less
Likes:
The hostess of the Guest House was very friendly & helpful.
Dislikes:
Single rooms need updated.
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
A very difficult Guest to please - but we tried hard! He arrived very much the worse for wear from the Pub and we moved him to the back of the Guest House because he was being abusive to other Guests. We should mention in this Guest's favour that he was extremely apologetic the next morning about his behavior.
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Kay
Alone
Stayed: Apr '10
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
3
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly hotel, suited needs"
The owner made me feel very welcome. She went out of her way to help me with directions. She catered for my dietary requirements.... Read more
"Friendly hotel, suited needs"
The owner made me feel very welcome. She went out of her way to help me with directions. She catered for my dietary requirements. Read less
Likes:
The staff
Dislikes:
No on suite and no off road parking
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
Thanks Kay - hope to see you again!
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Yasmin
Alone
Stayed: Apr '10
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
3
Location:
5
Breakfast:
3
"Comfortable and Pleasant"
It was a very short stay and they accommodated for all my needs, and were very friendly and helpful. I felt that the rooms were comfortable and should be adequate if you are visiting or in the city fo... Read more
"Comfortable and Pleasant"
It was a very short stay and they accommodated for all my needs, and were very friendly and helpful. I felt that the rooms were comfortable and should be adequate if you are visiting or in the city for business. Read less
Likes:
The room was pleasant, facilities were clean and worked well, and supplied breakfast despite leaving exceptionally early.
Dislikes:
It was hard to find assistance at times, but when someone is around they are very willing to help.
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
Thank you very much for your review, We have just installed a wireless enquiries bell so that we can hear it better whilst working out the back doing the ironing!
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
John
Young Couple
Stayed: Apr '10
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
3
Location:
2
Breakfast:
3
"average guest house in need of modernisation, not suited to someone used to modern hotel standard"
Very dissapointed with standard of bedroom and tiredness of furnishings & bed & bedding, was not at all comfortable with the room or bed, also had no parking and had it not been paid for by in... Read more
"average guest house in need of modernisation, not suited to someone used to modern hotel standard"
Very dissapointed with standard of bedroom and tiredness of furnishings & bed & bedding, was not at all comfortable with the room or bed, also had no parking and had it not been paid for by internet booking would have declined the room and gone elsehwere, this is the downside of booking accomodation in this sort of establishment on-line, I would not do it again & will only book a known establishment on line Read less
Likes:
The woman running it was friedly enough and breakfast was served efficiently and was good.
Dislikes:
See above
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
I am sorry that you were disappointed - most people are more than happy with this room. I do wish you had something at the time and we could have offered you one of our newly refurbished rooms featuring very modern furniture, if that is the style that you wanted. As it happens the room you were in is the next one due to be done. We will be delighted for you to come back and review the improvements. Please keep in touch.
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Anne
Young Couple
Stayed: Apr '10
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Very friendly B&B"
The owner was lovely and could not have been nicer or more helpful. She greeted us warmly on arrival and was a very knowledgeable about the local area, helping us out with local taxi service. The room... Read more
"Very friendly B&B"
The owner was lovely and could not have been nicer or more helpful. She greeted us warmly on arrival and was a very knowledgeable about the local area, helping us out with local taxi service. The room was comfortable but could probably do with a freshen up decoration wise, absolutely fine for an overnight stay though. Breakfast was cooked to order and there was a good choice. Read less
Likes:
The attentiveness of the owner, she made us feel very welcome.
Dislikes:
The room was overly warm at night and I couldn't obviously see how to turn the heating off.
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing all our rooms and the room you stayed in is next in line to be done. We have almost finished refurbishing our third room. The radiator has been sorted - it was a sticking thermostat.
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Clive
Group of Adults
Stayed: Apr '10
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Excellent attention for welcoming guests."
Very clean and well equipped rooms, excellent hospitality and a wonderful welcome.... Read more
"Excellent attention for welcoming guests."
Very clean and well equipped rooms, excellent hospitality and a wonderful welcome. Read less
Likes:
Being treated as a guest.
Dislikes:
N/A
Response from Abbey Lodge Guest House:
Thanks for your feedback - glad you enjoyed the "breakfast to go" . You must stop for breakfast next time and my husband promises not to leave his Ikea screwdriver in the room!
Abbey Lodge Guest House, Portsmouth
Previous Page: ... 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 Next